What is Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)?

"You have to first plan what you're developing otherwise you'll find yourself on the terrace of a building without ground floor"

Just like the life cycle of humans, software too have development life cycle of their own.

Also known as Software Development Process, Software Development Life Cycle is a structure which is the blue print of the development of a software product.

Software Life Cycle model is a framework that describe the activities performed at each stage of software development project.

The process comprises of several phases or steps which ensure that good quality software is built.

Developers aim to develop cost efficient, easy to maintain, enduring and good quality software.

Each phase in the Software Development Life Cycle has its own process and deliverables that feed into the next phase.
There are typically 5 phases:

  • Analyze user requirements
  • Design the program
  • Code the program
  • Document and test the system
  • Operate and maintain the system.

With the growth in technology, different Software Development Life Cycle Models have been developed which allow the careful yet effective development of long running software products.

Popular Software Development Life Cycle Models like Waterfall Model, V-shaped Model, Evolutionary Prototyping Model, Rapid Application Model (RAD), Spiral Model and many more.

For more Information about SDLC please attend the Code Instruct workshops